Board & Sponsors

New Haven Promise is a scholarship and support program created to promote college education as an aspiration for all New Haven public school students; assist graduating students from New Haven to pursue education after high school; and enhance the growth, stability, and economic development of the City of New Haven.

The mission of New Haven Promise is to improve city schools and support economic development in New Haven by growing a competitive workforce and increasing homeownership.

New Haven Promise is supported by Yale University, Yale New Haven Hospital, and The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven.

Board of Directors


Peter Salovey (Chair)
President, Yale University

Justin Elicker
Mayor, City of New Haven

William W. Ginsberg
President & CEO, The Community Foundation for Greater New Haven

Patricia Melton (non-voting)
President, New Haven Promise


Dr. Joe Bertolino
President, Southern Connecticut State University

Marna P. Borgstrom
CEO, Yale New Haven Health & Yale New Haven Hospital

Dr. William Terry Brown
CEO, Gateway Community College

Nathan Fuerst
VP for Enrollment Planning & Management, University of Connecticut

Dr. Judy D. Olian
President, Quinnipiac University

Core Sponsors