Dr. Mayo & NHPS To Receive Champion Award

Dr. Reginald Mayo and the New Haven Public School District are the 2017 recipients of the New Haven Promise Champion Award, which is given to an individual or organization that has provided a significant and meaningful contribution to Promise Scholars and to the growth of New Haven Promise.

Dr. Mayo — the superintendent for two decades — helped pioneer the establishment of New Haven Promise. He has returned in an interim basis and continues to be a strong and unwavering advocate for New Haven Public School students and New Haven Promise. The district will receive the award at the Promise Scholar Celebration on Thursday, August 17, at the Lyman Center on the campus of Southern Connecticut State University.

The school district — which now has grown to more than 22,000 students — has begun an initiative to attract minority teachers and has opened a pipeline to paid internships through New Haven Promise. This year 12 Scholars were hired to provide services at eight different sites.

“Not only has the school district begun to look within its own graduates for potential educators,” said Promise President Patricia Melton. “The district has been extremely generous in providing valuable resources in our partnerships for summer learning.”

The Champion Award debuted last year and the Yale University Art Gallery was the initial recipient. Thursday evening will also be the fourth time the Promise Legacy Award has been handed out and this year’s recipients are Jorgieliz Casanova (Albertus Magnus/MBA) and Lawrence McGill (Eastern Connecticut/Career).

1 thought on “Dr. Mayo & NHPS To Receive Champion Award

  1. Pingback: New Haven Promise To Celebrate 359 Qualifiers On Thursday | New Haven Promise

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *